Posted by: toddvernon | May 22, 2009

Victorious!

La Quinta, CA — I birdied the last hole after lasering a 5 iron to 12 feet to win by two shots!  Not quite the easy rounds of the first two days (65, 65), but I saved the best shot for last.  Not that today was incredibly bad, but sometimes I learn more from the days when I stuggle a bit.  With a three shot lead beginning the day, I was a bit more conservative in my approach.  My playing partners were on my heels, but I remained calm and relied on my solid putting that helped me make 16 birdies in the first two days.  The best part is that I did exactly what I needed to win, nothing less and nothing more.

My tuneup with Chappy at the beginning of the week was a good one.  Very simple, yet right on track with what we are working on.  He also fixed my setup with my putter and that made all the difference.  I have always been optimistic about the future, but consecutive 65’s tell me a lot.  It is time to go … onward and upward …

Check the Press page for a photo.


Responses

  1. I am so proud of you honey!!! Sending you cross-country hugs and kisses!!! Wish you were here in DC with us and we could all celebrate! Hooray for you!

  2. Hey Todd– congrats! We’re still keeping tabs on you across the pond 🙂

    Matt and Val


Leave a comment

Categories