Posted by: toddvernon | October 15, 2009

My First Trip to Pinehurst

Pinehurst, NC — I played pretty poorly this week as I really struggled with my ball striking.  I hit some shots that I have not seen in a long time, which put a lot of pressure on my short game and putting.  We played a couple of great golf courses in the Pinehurst area.  One course, Pine Needles, recently hosted the U.S. Women’s Open in 2007.  It is a Donald Ross design and featured many of the same challenges as another famous Donald Ross layout, Pinehurst No. 2, which held the U.S. Open in 1999 and 2005 and will again in 2014.  I went over there to check it out and saw the statue of Payne Stewart in the one-footed, fist pumping pose when he made that 15 footer for par on the last hole of the tournament to beat Phil Mickelson by one shot.  That was cool!

As for my game, I am down to the last week of prep before Q school.  I’ll be working hard to sharpen things up and will make a trip to see my coach on the way to the tournament.  This is usually a good tune up for me, physically and mentally.  My swing feels way too complicated at the moment, never a good thing.  I spoke to Chappy and he gave me a couple of things to work on which already helped when I was at the range today.

Here is a photo from number 18 at Mid Pines Lodge and Golf Club.  I love the pine trees!

MidPinesLodge 003


Responses

  1. Todd,

    As my parents say, “good skill” at q school. Hope all is well for you and Abby.

    Jack


Leave a comment

Categories