Posted by: toddvernon | August 26, 2009

Almost Like San Francisco!

Savannah, GA

Talmadge Bridge

Savannah, GA — The Talmadge Memorial Bridge over the Savannah River reminded me of the Golden Gate.  The golf course sits below the bridge on an island in the river.  It is a nice course and they are used to having tournament golf with the Champions Tour hosting the Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf since 1978!  I was happy to get in this event through the qualifier and as an alternate.  I just missed qualifying but fought for one of the higher alternate spots in a playoff and that proved to be the difference as the next guy behind me did not get in.  I was pretty certain that I would not get to play, but a player withdrew on the morning of the first round because of injury and I was the beneficiary.  I was prepared and had been hanging around warming up when I got the call.  That seems like a nice way to get into the U.S. Open, but not how I imagine getting into a Tarheel event!  Oh well, I do what I can.

I had a bit of a break from tournament golf with our move, but I have been updating my schedule and planning my next steps before Q School.  I intend to stay very busy so that I am in good shape for this all important event.  That means lots of tournament rounds because the competition is a great way to gauge where my game stands.  You can also check the blogroll on the right margin for a link to the Tarheel Tour


Leave a comment

Categories